Trust by Jodi Baker – Book Review

Trust

By: Jodi Baker

cover60883-medium

Overall: 3 out of 5 stars 

This book is part one of the ‘Between the Lions’ series.

I enjoyed this book from the beginning. The story and plot line were very intriguing and unique from the start. Baker seems to have a lot of interesting ideas planned for this series. The book held my interest, but seemed to fall short for the last quarter of the book. It certainly was an easy and quick read which I loved (since I don’t have that much free time with all of my law school work during the semester).

I found it difficult to follow along with the main character, Anna, and the voice inside her head (yeah, she has one show up randomly in the second chapter…). I was confused and couldn’t figure out what the point of it was without some sort of background or foreshadowing or really anything to explain why it was suddenly thrown into the story. I also don’t completely understand the point of some of the characters or the time lapse that took place between one of the chapters. I felt like I was filling in the blanks, but without any information from the book to assist me. There wasn’t a helpful transition between the first chapter and the second, which made it make zero sense.

There was also a romance thrown in at the last minute that seemed forced and predictable. It wasn’t terrible, but didn’t feel genuine.

Maybe in the next book of the series, things will be explained and flushed out in a way that isn’t as confusing or forced on the reader.

I absolutely love anything to do with Egyptian or Greek mythology, so this book really worked for me in all aspects of the mythology and fantasy department.

Copy of book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

