Shadow, Shadow by V.B. Marlowe – Book Review

Shadow, Shadow

Book One of the Shadow Pines Trilogy

24952665

Author: V.B. Marlowe

Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Pages: 203 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy

Publication Date: February 15, 2015

Review: First of all, the cover is absolutely gorgeous. It really reminded me of Alice in Wonderland or something similar and that grabbed my attention instantly.

This book was really strange and kind of dark and ominous. The writing style is very simple and straight forward. This book could be read very quickly.

There are a couple of things I would like to say about this book, but I think that would give away too much and lead to not being spoiler-free and I don’t want to do that. This book was very slow to start for me, it took at least four or five chapters for me to get into it.

The book makes a lot of connections to horror movies, which makes this story very believable as a horror story. There is something really creepy and chilling about a horror book that deals with shadows and nothing that is overly gruesome or psychotic. For the most part, a lot of the issues going on with the families mentioned are everyday challenges that people face, and then Marlowe throws in a paranormal element that just pushes it over the edge from normal into creepy (which isn’t a bad thing).

The book is told from two different point of views: one being Teaghan’s and the other is Harley’s. I loved Harley’s point of view because I thought she was interesting and funny. I didn’t like a lot of the decision she made, but they really didn’t bother me too much. I wasn’t a fan of Teaghan, but that was because of situations in the book.

As much as I wasn’t a fan of Teaghan, I did understand all of the actions that she took and why she did them. I can’t really even dislike her because of those decisions.

Some characters I just felt like were included to just be included. I didn’t really see the point of them.

The last chapter brought in a character that had not been mentioned in the book previously and that completely threw me off. i had no clue where that was even going.

Even though I’m giving this 3.5 stars, I probably would read the sequel.

Review is also posted on Goodreads.

*ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, NetGalley!*

One thought on “Shadow, Shadow by V.B. Marlowe – Book Review

Leave a Reply

