Rogue by Julie Kagawa – Book Review

Rogue

(Talon #2)

25368537Author: Julie Kagawa

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Pages: 432

Genre: Fantasy, Dragons, Romance, Mythology, and Fiction

Review: I was counting down the days until this book came out. I absolutely loved the first one and was dying to read the next book in the series. I have to say…this book disappointed me.

My rating would have been lower if it were not for the action packed, fast paced chapters at the end of the book.

Maybe I had higher expectations than I should have had for this book, but after getting a third of the way through the book, I found myself not drawn to continue reading it. I don’t know whether it was the lackluster characters or the lack of an actual plot line that failed to keep my interest.

The same characters return from the first book. Ember is the main character and a dragon. In the first book, I loved her independence, strength, and rebelliousness that came with her character. In this sequel, I found her boring, annoying, and just useless. She did not grow or improve as a character for me, in fact, she declined.

Riley annoyed me in the first book and did not fail to anger me in this book. I just did not like his character or feel any connection between him and Ember. I thought their “romance” (or lack thereof) was forced and kind of strange. Riley was clearly fleshed out as a character in this book, but even his sarcastic manner could not win me over.

Garret was my favorite character from the first book and again my favorite in this sequel. He was the only character who had made a change from the first book, in a positive manner. Even saying that, it felt like he was kind of left to the reader’s imagination and for the readers to fill in the blanks.

There was a forced love triangle in this book and honestly, I felt like it was so cliche that it began to irritate me to no end. I felt the connection between Ember and Garret in the first book and even in the second one. I just felt like Kagawa turned a unique fantasy YA series into the stereotypical love triangle (Twilight like) YA book. It was ultimately very disappointing to me.

Overall, I felt very disconnected from this book and was forcing myself to keep reading with the hope that it would get better. In my opinion, it got worse (harsh but true, even though it pains me to say it).

That being said, I would most likely read the next book in the series just to see how the story progresses.

This review was also posted on my Goodreads account. Feel free to add me on there as well!

Leave a Reply

