Down the Wormhole (Wormhole #1) by Ana Franco – Book Review

Down the Wormhole

(Wormhole #1)

*This book was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review*

23783793Author: Ana Franco

Pages: 205

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology

Review: I’ve been struggling to figure out how I want to review this book and I think the easiest way would be to separate it by positives and negatives.

I’ll start with the positives since I don’t have as many of them as I do negatives. I don’t want this review to come across as negative in any way, I’d rather it be more constructive since I actually did enjoy reading the novel.

Positives: I absolutely loved the idea behind this novel. I tend to enjoy anything relating to Greek or Egyptian mythology and I did love the variety of characters that this novel had to offer and the various mythological gods that were included. There was a lot of information behind each of the Gods (whether they were good or bad) that was provided that was very interesting. The characters were also pretty diverse and represented their mythological realm very well.

The story line also was very interesting. It had a lot of potential and definitely held my interest. I finished this story in about two hours (since it is about 150 pages).

Negatives: The characters were thrown at the reader with no background information. The main character, Kitty, is just introduced and the readers are told that she is human. That was it. I felt like there needed to be more background on all of the characters before having the plot line advance or even all of the action start. One of the main characters, Gin (a Celtic god) was the “brother” of Thor and Lady Sif (thank you Marvel for The Avengers and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D). Because of that connection, I wanted him to be referred to as Loki. I don’t know who Gin is and that was never explained in any detail. He was the god of magic and mischief (like Loki) and that really threw me off.

The romance was completely forced and I did not feel a single connection between any of the characters or even to the characters. I found myself just reading to see what happened and if any other gods would be introduced. There was talk about soul mates or mates in general and I definitely did not feel that between any of the characters. It just happened in one chapter and that was it. There was no buildup and very minimal flirting…it just did not seem real.

The last thing that really bothered me was the childish and immature manner that most of the characters reacted with. When I think of Greek/Norse/Egyptian/or Celtic gods, I expect a sort of maturity that comes with age and experience. Yes, these gods were “teenagers” in this world, but they clearly had been alive for a long time. They just acted like a bunch of high schoolers and sometimes like pre-teens and it was annoying.

The plot line advanced really quickly and moved the story along faster than it needed to. That’s not a negative point, but just an observation.

Overall, the concept of the novel was very interesting and has a lot of potential. I think the story line needs some revision, but it is definitely worth a read for any mythology lovers.

This review is also posted on my Goodreads account. Feel free to add me on there as well!

Leave a Reply

