Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1) by Gena Showalter- Book Review

Alice in Zombieland

(White Rabbit Chronicles #1)

11300302Author: Gena Showalter

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Pages: 404

Genre: Young Adult, Horror – Zombies, Fantasy – Paranormal, Romance, Retellings, Fantasy – Supernatural, Urban Fantasy

Review: I finally was able to sit down and read this book since it had been on my “to read” list for over a year now.

I wasn’t disappointed in it at all. I was actually surprised by how much I enjoyed it. To be honest, I’m not a person who enjoys the whole zombie craze that people have been into recently, so I was surprised that it didn’t bother me at all in this book.

I am an Alice in Wonderland fan and like to read retellings of the story the best. This book had very little to of with Lewis Carroll’s classic, except for the title, the chapter titles, the main character’s name is Alice, and the occasional reference to the White Rabbit. I kept trying to make connections to the original, but I could not find any. The more I think about that, the more glad I am that there were none. It was refreshing to read a story that isn’t trying to connect to another story in any way.

I really enjoyed the main character, Alice Bell. She was sarcastic and headstrong. She started off as weak, but really blossomed into a lovable and supportable heroine. The main guy, Cole Holland, was also hard not to love. He was the perfect bad boy with a good side that everybody loves. He did not disappoint. Gena Showalter did excellent character development and her dialogue between characters could not have felt more real (even though they were talking about zombies). Even the supporting characters were great.

This book is probably not for everybody since a few of my friends could not finish it, but if you are a fan of zombies, romance, and the idea that it could be related to Alice in Wonderland than this book is for you. It is part of a series and I have already downloaded the next book and cannot wait to continue reading it.

Also, if anyone has any suggestions of Alice in Wonderland retellings please let me know!

This review was also posted on my Goodreads page! Feel free to add me there as well!

Leave a Reply

