Church of Marvels by Leslie Parry – Book Review

Church of Marvels

24849606

Author: Leslie Parry

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pages: 308

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fiction, Mystery, Magical Realism, Historical, Fantasy

Review: *I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

I had a really difficult time getting into this book. I kept having to force myself to sit down and continue reading it. The writing itself was really interesting and very dark.
This story takes place in New York in the late 1800s. It is a very dark and twisting tale that intertwines four different characters perspectives until they finally connect. Parry combined a multitude of concepts: opium dens, circus performers, an insane asylum, and an amateur boxer.

Parry’s prose is beautifully written in a lyrical manner that adds to the suspense of the story and the mystery of each character. The mystery that the story revolves around came across as scattered a lot of the time, but it did come together at the end.

Parry creates an atmospheric world that is easy to get lost in and sometimes hard to get into (for me at least). I personally liked the short chapters, but was not a fan of the cliffhangers that ended each chapter. The switching of the characters’ perspectives also threw off the pace of the story for me.

I think the reason I had a hard time getting into the story was because of the flashbacks. I would have preferred the book to be more straightforward with what was going on.

Overall, it was a really interesting and dark story that many readers will absolutely love.

This review can also be found on my Goodreads page! Feel free to add me on there!

2 thoughts on “Church of Marvels by Leslie Parry – Book Review

Leave a Reply

