Unmasqued by Colette Gale Book Review

Unmasqued

(An Erotic Novel of The Phantom of the Opera)

257006.jpg

Author: Colette Gale

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Pages: 352

Genre: Adult Fiction, Erotica, Retelling, Historical Romance, Classics, Fiction, Historical, Romance

Review: This book was recommended to me by a friend Goodreads who knew I loved everything to do with The Phantom of the Opera. This person did not read the book, just came across it in passing and mentioned it to me. That being said…this book was a train wreck.

I finished it in one day, but only because I wanted to get through it. Erotica is not really a genre I enjoy, but because it was Phantom I decided to give it a try. This book had one bad thing happen after another and really  veered from Leroux’s version and Weber’s masterpiece that I love. The story itself was interesting and unique, but the erotica part was way too much and at random times that were unnecessary and complete fillers.

Everyone in this story is basically addicted to sex or using sex in some way to gain power over another. If that was only one character I could understand, but it is the majority of characters, except maybe one. I found no redeeming qualities to any of the characters except Erik, the phantom. Christine endures sexual trauma constantly and has no psychological issues to speak of? Really? Even Erik bored me with his lack of character development and his lack of passion for music (other than a few mentions). Music is the main reason behind the Phantom’s obsession with Christine and it did not show here.

This story had the potential to be very unique and different from any other erotica out there and it fell flat. It was finally giving some fans what they wanted when they believed that Christine chose the wrong man at the end of the story. Gale does have Christine end up with the Phantom, but not in a way that was satisfying.

I would not recommend it to anyone, because it was hard to get through and I found myself skipping all of the sexual encounters because they became meaningless. I did not care what happened to anyone.

P.S. If anyone wants to see a true passionate/ heartbreaking relationship between the Phantom and Christine, watch the Royal Albert Hall version of the Phantom of the Opera starring Ramin Karimloo and Sierra Boggess (it’s on youtube)…it is truly a work of art.

This review can also be found on my Goodreads page! Feel free to add me on there!

Also if anyone has any other recommendations that are based on the Phantom of the Opera, please pass them my way!

 

One thought on “Unmasqued by Colette Gale Book Review

  1. thetelltalereader says:

    disappointed to hear this book wasn’t better, I LOVE the phantom of the opera, one of my all time favorite books and think a good modern day retelling is overdue. would love to know if you find one that’s worth while.

    Like

Leave a Reply

